Dairy Free: French Toast Casserole

dairy free french toast casserole

Dairy free – sounds so yummy! Jk. For a short time I was not able to eat dairy. I was the least “crunchy” dairy free mom out there. I was a breastfeeding mom who craved creamy, carbohydrate ridden, comforting food. And those cravings must be fulfilled sometimes! I hope with this recipe you are able to over indulge too. I found a recipe on AllRecipes.com for French Toast Casserole but this included ingredients with dairy. I took the basic concepts of the recipe and made it all my own! Enjoy!

5 dairy free hamburger buns cubed
1 cup egg substitute
1 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk (sweetened or unsweetened is fine)
1/4 cup sugar divided
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon Earth Balance® natural buttery spread
1 teaspoon cinnamon

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease with canola oil an 8×8 inch baking pan.
  2. Line the bottom of the pan with hamburger bun cubes. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, almond milk, 2 tablespoons sugar, salt and vanilla. Pour the egg mixture over the bread. Dot with buttery spread and let stand for 15 minutes.
  3. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons sugar with 1 teaspoon cinnamon and sprinkle over the top. Bake 50 minutes until top is golden.

A side note: If you happen to be making this as a special “breakfast for dinner” treat and your adorable husband happens to come home late, the casserole will sink as it cools, being that it has the consistency of a soufflé.

I used stale hamburger buns that I had in the freezer.

I used stale hamburger buns that I had in the freezer.

photo 3

photo 4

Gorgeous

Gorgeous

Leave a comment